Industry awards

Prestigious awards offered by NAWIC and other industry-related groups.


NAWIC Outstanding Woman in Construction Award
Presented by the Greater Phoenix chapter in cooperation with ASU Del Webb School of Construction

PURPOSE: To provide recognition for accomplishments of women in construction.
NOMINEES: Must be a full time woman constructor working in the construction industry in Arizona.
NOMINATIONS: Must be presented by letter of endorsement from a local or national organization (such as ABC, AGC, AIC, ASA, ASCE, CFMA, CMAA, NAWIC, NSPE and others). Return the nomination form, endorsement letter, and nominee resume.
AWARD: The award is a plaque presented at the Annual Construction Recognition Dinner. The Greater Phoenix NAWIC Chapter provides funding to help offset recipient travel expenses.

CRITERIA FOR EVALUATION: Nominees will be judged in FIVE areas:

  • Outstanding performance in construction management
  • Five years successful experience
  • Community service involvement
  • Construction association memberships and
  • Participation in construction education



The National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) originally began as Women in Construction of Fort Worth, Texas. Sixteen women working in the construction industry founded it in 1953. Knowing that women represented only a small fraction of the construction industry, the founders organized NAWIC to create a support network. Women in Construction of Fort Worth was so successful that it gained its national charter in 1955 and became the National Association of Women in Construction. Today, NAWIC provides its members with opportunities for professional development, education, networking, leadership training, public service and more.