2015 NFSF Recipients

Each year we are pleased to award over $25,000 to worthy recipients in construction-related programs. Award amounts range from $500 to $2,500. Some local chapters award scholarships as well, please contact the National Office to find a chapter near you. 800-552-3506. For questions on eligibility please see below or email us at nawic@nawic.org.

Applications must be postmarked by February 28th of each year to qualify for competition. See below for eligibility requirements and the appropriate application.

PLEASE NOTE: Scholarship winners will be contacted by the NFSF committee.  If you are an applicant, please do not call the national office to check on scholarship status

Contact Information for NAWIC Founders' Scholarship Foundation (payee)


Fund Administrator: Judy DeWeese, CBT, CIT

Email: JuDeNAWIC@aol.com

Undergraduate Scholarship 


  • Applicant must be currently enrolled in a construction-related degree program at a school in the United States and must have a least one term remaining in a course of study leading to a degree or an associate degree in a construction-related field. High school seniors are not eligible.
  • Applicant must desire a career in a construction-related field. 
  • Applicant must be enrolled full-time.
  • Applicant must have a current cumulative GPA or 3.0 or higher to be considered for awards.

Undergraduate Scholarship Application

Construction Trades Scholarship


  • Applicant must be currently enrolled in a construction-related training program which is approved by the Bureau of Apprenticeship Training, community college, technical school or equivalent.
  • Applicant must be obtaining training in a construction-related craft or trade.

Construction Trades Scholarship Application

The NAWIC Founders' Scholarship Foundation is an equal opportunity organization, and encourages applications from all individuals. The Foundation is recognized by the IRS as a 509(a)(3) Corporation, so all donations are deductible as charitable contributions.


Application for NFSF Administration of Scholarship Award 

Chapter Letter to Counselors (Template)

Chapter Letter to Past Scholarship Recipients (Template)

Congratulations to the 2015-2016 NFSF winners:

Awarded from NFSF interest income:
Kent Beechman Cal Poly NFSF
Ian Buckley Boston Architecture University NFSF
Abel Crean Florida International University NFSF
Olivia DelBono Cal Poly Tech CSU NFSF
James Duke Mississippi State NFSF
Kathleen Edwards University of Maryland NFSF
Kelly Heckemeyer Missouri University of St. Louis NFSF
Jared Henry East Carolina NFSF
Megam Maki Marquette University NFSF
Stephanie McCummings Midland Tech College NFSF
Gabrielle McMorrow University of Wyoming NFSF
Lilia Miller Central Connecticut NFSF
Joshua Mills Montana Tech NFSF
Alex Mortenson Oklahoma State NFSF
Marissa Myrick University of Alaska NFSF
Joshua Patience Univeristy of Northern Iowa NFSF
Savanna Sampson New York University NFSF
Catherine Scoboria Villanova University NFSF
Dana Simmons Madison College NFSF
Joshua Smith Colorado State NFSF
Luis Vargas Trivecca Nazarene University NFSF
Casie Venable Virginia Tech NFSF
Joseph Waddell New Castle School NFSF
Mary Williams University of Tennessee NFSF
Awarded from NAWIC Chapters/Memorial Funds:
Elizabeth Berry CSU Fresno Santa Clara #99 - Faye Fisher Scholarship
Dean Chase Michigan State Lansing #177 - Carleen E. Hallman Scholarship
Dean Chase Michigan State Kalamazoo/Battle Creek #302
Linette Green University of Cincinnati Cincinnati #64
Katie Henry Ball State University Indianapolis #34
Linette Green University of Cincinnati Cincinnati #64
Sierra Holloway Northern Arizona University Las Vegas #74 - Nevada Constructs Award
Madisson Hoxsie Michigan State Kalamazoo/Battle Creek #302
Brianna Kovacs University of Maryland Baltimore #135
Gema Loera Cal Poly San Bernardino-Riverside #111
Emma Maples Ball State University Indianapolis #34
Alex Mortenson Oklahoma State South Central Region (7)
Emma Mappes Ball State University Indianapolis #34
Alyssa Norris Washington State Alaska #197
Joshua Patience University of Northern Iowa Cedar Rapids/Iowa City #160 - Alla Stoner Memorial Scholarship
Julie Priddy UMES Baltimore #135
Bryce Rainey Ball State University Indianapolis #34
Claire Olson University of Wisconsin Milwaukee #105
Joshua Patience University of Northern Iowa Cedar Rapids/Iowa City #160 - Alla Stoner Memorial Scholarship
Krista Purser CA Polytechnic - San Luis Obispo Santa Clara #99 - Faye Fisher Scholarship
Bryce Rainey Ball State University Indianapolis #34
Janie Roberts Lawerence Tech University Detroit #183
Emily Sobek University of Alaska Alaska #197
Jenna Stein University of Minnesota Philadelphia #145 - Eleanor K Buckley Memorial Scholarship
Victoria Triepke California Baptist Orange County #91
Victoria Triepke California Baptist San Bernardino-Riverside #111
Ashley Whitesides Arizona State Colorado Springs #356
Nathan Yaskell University of Alaska, Anchorage Alaska #197





The National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) originally began as Women in Construction of Fort Worth, Texas. Sixteen women working in the construction industry founded it in 1953. Knowing that women represented only a small fraction of the construction industry, the founders organized NAWIC to create a support network. Women in Construction of Fort Worth was so successful that it gained its national charter in 1955 and became the National Association of Women in Construction. Today, NAWIC provides its members with opportunities for professional development, education, networking, leadership training, public service and more.

Core Purpose: To enhance the success of women in the construction industry.